Dollyrockers and Liberty for All

Originally I was going to write about Liberty Prints, from their groovy 60’s prints to today’s collaboration with MAC Cosmetics and Target, until I came across another one of their collaborations, Dollyrockers.  The name itself captured my imagination, and the spirit of what I imagined an early 1960’s rocker hipster would look like, so I had to find out more about this label.

1960s mini dress label Courtesy of premierludwig

 

It was a label that focused on dresses and tops, in a style that was part of the British Boutique Movement (Active c.1963-c.1975). Boutiques in this movement included: Biba, Bazaar by Mary Quant, Pollyanna, Top Gear, Bird Cage, etc… It was the emergence of independent young designers of the 1960’s, and a response to the lack of clothing choices for their generation. These boutiques and new designs served a need that caught on like wildfire, and created the look for “swinging London.”

However, established clothing manufacturers wanted to capitalize on this movement too, so they created niche labels to project the “boutique” image. Dollyrockers by Samuel Sherman (aka: Sambo) was one of them. Dollyrockers turned to collaboration to further market the label, and claim it’s spot on London’s youthquake map. It’s no surprise that they collaborated with an established fabric manufacturer such as Liberty, known for its eclectic and colorful floral prints for mass market, and it makes sense now that Liberty would collaborate with large players such as Target and MAC, which position themselves strongly in the youth market.

The Dollyrockers /Liberty Prints label is now very collectible, although not as “boutique authentic” as an Ossie Clark or a Foale and Tuffin, started from scratch by these independent designers,  it’s still a sought after label.  I would love to see a new collaboration done with the Dollyrockers label, maybe with new print designers?

 

Liberty for MAC Cosmetics – mix of Nouveau and painted florals


Liberty for Target – Ornamental and ditzy prints


The face for the Dollyrockers label, was Pattie Boyd (who had just started dating George Harrison).

 

60s Dollyrockers Liberty of London Dress
60s Dollyrockers Liberty of London Paisley Print Mod Mini Dress



Dollyrockers  http://www.vintagefashionguild.org/content/view/171/121/

http://dollyrockervintage.blogspot.com/ (cool ’60’s vintage blog and shop)

The British Boutique Movement  http://forums.vintagefashionguild.org/viewthread.php?tid=42930

http://www.liberty.co.uk/fcp/departmenthome/dept/fabrics (Liberty Fabrics)

Liberty  http://www.victorianweb.org/art/design/liberty/mariotti10.html

9 thoughts on “Dollyrockers and Liberty for All

  1. I have a black and white photo of a friend any myself c. 1960. I’m wearing a Dollyrocker empire line dress , top in black and white check, skirt in ‘shocking pink’, with a blak velvet ribbon below the bust. What’s more, I was married ina Dollyrocker dress and coat in1967.

    So glad someone has recognised the importance of this label at the time.I LOVED my Dollyrockers

  2. I designed for Dollyrockers! My first job when I came to London from the north.Patti was the face of Dollyrocker.I went on to design for Mr Freedom, Paradise Garage,body Shop, Secret Ingredient, Marshall Lester, Photo,etc and still work in the Kings Road.

  3. Hi Diana! That is so cool! You’re an original Dollyrocker! I’m so glad you commented on this post. Mr. Freedom! Secret Ingredient! It sounds like you have an amazing portfolio. I would love to see your photos and hear about your experience with these labels and the 60’s-70’s boutique fashion scene. Let me know if you’d like to post your story on here.
    Thanks! Gaby

  4. Reblogged this on Stars We Are and commented:

    I wanted to re-post this because these labels are optimistic, timeless and inspirational in fashion & music! Cheers to all the Dollyrockers out there!

  5. I just received a Dollyrockers/Liberty Print dress from etsy, decided to do some research, found this article and the dress is the purple paisley one exactly as seen in the photograph above. Is the photograph from an etsy posting (that is where I ordered it)? Do we know anything about that dress, print, etc…?

  6. my favourite dresses were Dollyrockers. I bought then from Wallis in Bristol. 1967 was just great,,, youth, I was 17, music and fashion and freedom.

Leave a Reply

